Ian Stewart


3 Mediterranean Pieces

any unaccompanied saxophone
(6 minutes 45 seconds)

First performance:
Tuesday, 20th March 2012
Sheffield Cathedral

Isabella Stabio - Alto saxophone
Website - Isabella Stabio

These three pieces were composed for a dance performance, originally scored for classical guitar, clarinet, percussion and piano. After the dance performances, I realised they would work really well played by unaccompanied soprano saxophone. These pieces were then recomposed as an unaccompanied work, developing the melody in a style reminiscent of Mediterranean music.
After a Greek saxophonist looked at these pieces he asked 'why just soprano, why not also alto?'. Thinking about it I realised he was exactly right, and decided that as they are melodic, they would work well on any saxophone.