Ian Stewart - composer musician

Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis for voice, saxophone and piano

soprano voice : soprano saxophone : piano
(3 minutes 47 seconds : 2 minutes 30 seconds)

First performance: Saturday, 4 June 2016
St. John's Notting Hill
London - U.K.

Aileen Thomson - voice
Hayley Lambert - saxophones
Paul Turner - piano

Recomposition for Hayley Lambert's ensemble - The Poetic Saxophone After hearing a performance of my work La meva ànima magnifica al Senyor - based on my setting of the Magnificat - Hayley Lambert asked me if I would arrange this work for her ensemble The Poetic Saxophone - an ensemble of soprano voice, saxophone and piano. I welcomed this opportunity as my settings of the Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis were originally set to be sung.
The original soprano voice part, sung in Catalan, is unchanged; soprano saxophone and piano parts were then added to make a new composition.